The Derby and Sandiacre Canal Trust

The Trust is a Registered Charity No. 1042227 and a Company Limited by Guarantee Ref No. 02986417.

REGISTERED OFFICE: Derby and Sandiacre Canal Trust, 62 Broadway, Duffield, BELPER, DE56 4BU

AUDITORS: Community Accounting Plus, Voluntary Action Centre, 7 Mansfield Road, Nottingham, NG1 3FB

The Mission Statement of the Trust is:

“to restore the Derby Canal as near to its original route as possible thereby enhancing the lives of people resident or visiting the area.”

The delivery of the mission is achieved through four basic bodies:

  • The Board of Directors – “The Executive Group”
  • The Trustee Board
  • The Trust Membership
  • The Society Committee

We are always looking out for people with an interest in our success. We have a very strong organisation, but we would welcome any involvement or help that can be offered by any interested party. Please contact the appropriate person either listed below or on our Society Committee pages.

The Board of Directors – “The Development Group”

The Board of Directors consists of Directors appointed by the Trust Members together with enthusiasts co-opted onto the Board in recognition of their special expertise or skills to further the restoration.

Currently the Board consists of:


Name Role
Chris Madge

Paul Horton-Turner (FCA)

Chris Rees-FitzPatrick

David Savidge

Kevin Miller

Mike Snaith

Eddy Case

Val Clare

Maggie Throup




HS&E Officer; responsible for health and safety and working parties

Erewash Borough Councillor, Breaston Parish Councillor, EBC planning committee expertise

IWA representative

Society Chairman

Erewash Borough Councillor, Draycott Parish Councillor, EBC planning committee expertise

local MP and very interested in regeneration of the Erewash area

The group meets every three weeks to take strategic decisions. The topics covered by the Group include all restoration projects (currently in Derby city, Sandiacre, Draycott and Borrowash), fundraising, publicity and legal matters. The Board also undertakes financial oversight, approves expenditure and controls the Trust.

Please contact Chris Madge on for further details.

The Trustee Board

The role of the Trustee Board is to oversee the operation of the Trust and ensure the Directors operate within legal constraints, including those of the Charities Commission, and to ensure the assets of the Trust generated through fundraising are safeguarded. It is the role of Trustees to maintain and keep up to date the Trust’s objectives, aims and mission.

In order to ensure the Trust operates in a responsible way and recognises the various community interests key stakeholders are recognised and have the right to nominate two Trustees. These organisations are Derby City Council, Erewash Borough Council, South Derbyshire District Council, Derbyshire County Council, The Inland waterways Association (the organisation responsible for championing canal preservation and restoration) and the Derby and Sandiacre Canal Society.


Name Role
Greg Jennings

Chris Poulter

Alan Graves

Tim Scott

Gary Hickton

Peter Watson

John Baylis

Director of Regeneration, Derby City Council

Leader of Derby City Council

Erewash Borough Councillor, Draycott Parish Councillor

Derbyshire County Councillor

Derby City Councillor, Alvaston Ward

South Derbyshire District Councillor, a civil engineer with an interest in canal restoration

British Empire Medal, lifetime achievement award for services to waterways and IWA Director

Co-Opted Members

Name Role
Duncan Inwood

Derek Troughton

Andrew Baird

Mike Wingfield

Mike Wood

A retired planning Officer for Derby City Council


Website Manager & Rolls-Royce Engineer

Rolls-Royce Engineer; responsible for Derby city developments including the trip boat and Derby Arm


In addition to the Nominated Trustees, the Trustee Board is attended by the Trust’s Directors.

The Trustee Board meets quarterly to present reports from officers, the Executive Group and the Society. Meetings are open to the public and are currently held at 7.30pm on the second Wednesday of January, April, July and October.

Trust Membership

The Trust members attend regular general meetings, including the Annual General Meeting, at which Trust Directors and officers are appointed. The Trust AGM is held yearly, see below for recent meeting minutes:

Trust AGM 2020

Meeting Minutes

Treasurer’s Report

Annual Report

Trust AGM 2019

Meeting Minutes

Chairman’s Report